Apycom jQuery Menus

Share with us how close is the team to your heart or that one moment that gave you goosebumps .

Bangladesh Premier League

A Brief information about the Bangladesh Premier League going on in Bangladesh....

The Indian Premier League or the IPL gave new definitions to the
T20 format of the cricket. Club cricket has been prominent in England since a
long time but IPL took Club Cricket to greater heights. Watching the huge
success of IPL, many Cricket Boards are trying to start franchise based
tournaments in their country. Australia started BBL which was a revival of the KFC Twenty20 tournament and it was apparently successful. Sri Lanka
unfortunately failed to start the Sri Lanka Premier League(SLPL). There have
been talks to start a similar league in Pakistan. The latest entrant in the
list is Bangladesh which has successfully begun
"Bangladesh Premier
. The BPL commenced on 10th February and the final would be played
on 29th February. A total of 33 matches would be played within 20
days. The format is same as that of the IPL 5, i.e. Double round robin
format where every team will play two matches each with every other
team. It consists of six teams, namely
 Barisal BurnersChittagong Kings, Sylhet Royals, Duronto Rajshahi, Dhaka Gladiators and Khulna
Royal Bengal
. Shahid Afridi turned out to be the most expensive player at
the auctions who later on opted out of the tournament making Chris Gayle the most expensive player in the BPL. Each franchise can play upto 5 foreign
players in a match. There are also the provisions for
 Purple Cap for the highest Wicket taker, an Orange Cap for the highest Run getter and a Fair Play award for the team which plays most
fairly throughout the tournament. The matches will be played at two venues,Dhaka and Chittagong. The winner of this tournament would qualify for the
CLT20. BPL kicked off in style with Gayle hitting 101 runs of 56 balls with the
help of 7 fours and 10 sixes taking Barisal Burners to an easy win against
Sylhet Royals.

RCBians in BPL- Chris Gayle(Barisal Burners), Muttiah Muralitharan(Chittagong Kings)

Indians in BPL-
Unfortunately Indian players are not playing in the BPL but there's one former
all-rounder of India marking the presence of India at the BPL, Robin Singh who is the head coach of Khulna Royal Bengal, a side which is led by Shakib-al-Hasan.

Post a comment

Notify me of follow-up comments?


Post comment to Facebook

Latest comments

come on RCBians......GO FOR THE GOLD
jammy115 on 15 Feb 2012, 05:07 AM
nice piece of info Vishwajeet
aka on 13 Feb 2012, 07:08 AM
Congrats Vishwajeet for the first informative scrap.
karthik-shetty4 on 13 Feb 2012, 03:08 AM
My first blog...
VishwajeetRoyalChallenger on 12 Feb 2012, 10:08 PM
go RCBians go!!!!
Azhar-Ahmed1 on 12 Feb 2012, 08:37 PM