Apycom jQuery Menus

The coolest RCB updates, served hot.

3 RCB Stars in ICC's ODI Team of the Year 2011

3 RCB Stars in ICC's ODI Team of the Year 2011

3 RCB players: All rounder Tillakaratne Dilshan, batsman AB de Villiers and pace spearhead Zaheer Khan were announced as a part of the ICC's ODI Team of the Year for 2011 declared at the ICC Awards ceremony in London on Monday.

Including 7 players from the two sides that contested the World Cup final, the line up featured 4 Indians, 3 Sri Lankans, 2 South Africans and one player each from Australia, England and Pakistan.

The players were selected on the basis of their performances between August 11, 2010 and August 3, 2011.

Dilshan opens the batting with dynamite Virender Sehwag in the team, led by World Cup winning Indian captain MS Dhoni. AB de Villiers is the no. 4 batsman following the ODI player of the Year - Kumar Sangakkara at no. 3.

Shane Watson, Man of the Tournament in the World Cup - Yuvraj Singh, and English spinner Graeme Swann bat in the designated allrounder slots.

Zaheer Khan shares new ball duties with former Royal Challenger Dale Steyn, coming in later at the death to bowl with a reverse swinging peer - Umar Gul.

One more RCB batsman found himself among the nominees. Lethal opener Chris Gayle was nominated for the People's Choice Award alongwith Hashim Amla, MS Dhoni, Kumar Sangakkara and Jonathan Trott, an honour that Sangakkara eventually clinched.

ODI team of the year: MS Dhoni (captain and wk), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Virender Sehwag, Kumar Sangakkara, AB de Villiers, Shane Watson, Yuvraj Singh, Graeme Swann, Umar Gul, Dale Steyn, Zaheer Khan, 12th Man - Lasith Malinga.

Post a comment

Notify me of follow-up comments?


Post comment to Facebook

Latest comments

that is cool.
KKroyal on 20 Sep 2011, 05:40 AM
gr8 news
shashi-kumar2 on 20 Sep 2011, 03:01 AM
future greats
mohamedfasiahmed on 19 Sep 2011, 12:05 AM
Wow......itz almost RCB XI......
abdul-razak on 18 Sep 2011, 09:08 PM
We are just rocking the whole world....Go RCB Go
kaushiki on 18 Sep 2011, 07:34 AM
Moment of Pride for us
kaushiki on 18 Sep 2011, 07:33 AM
Moment of Pride for us
kaushiki on 18 Sep 2011, 07:33 AM
well zak is out have to wait and see how our team going to play ?
harish-shenoy on 17 Sep 2011, 11:47 PM
our team is looking very good for this time......
hurrehurre on 17 Sep 2011, 10:47 PM
Congrats guys
Rcbroxandrules on 17 Sep 2011, 10:42 PM
Show more comments >
subscribe to rss