Apycom jQuery Menus

The coolest RCB updates, served hot.

Indian team for SL tour announced

RCB's Virat Kohli, Zaheer Khan and Vinay Kumar are a part of the Indian squad announced by the BCCI for the tour of Sri Lanka beginning on 21st July.

Zaheer Khan and Virender Sehwag made their return to the LOI squad after being rested for the Asia Cup. Ravindra Jadeja, Praveen Kumar, Irfan and Yusuf Pathan were left out while Ajinkya Rahane, Pragyan Ojha and Umesh Yadav earned a place in the squad.

MS Dhoni will be the Captain while Royal Challengers Bangalore's Virat Kohli was retained as Vice Captain for the tour. "The idea is continuity," Chairman of Selectors Srikkanth said. "Virat got brilliant hundreds after becoming vice-captain which shows that he likes responsibility."

Sachin Tendulkar opted to miss the tour which begins with 5 ODIs on 21st July at Hambantota. The tour ends with a T20I at Pallekele on August 7th.

Team: MS Dhoni (Captain, WK), Virat Kohli (Vice Captain), Gautam Gambhir, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Manoj Tiwary, R Ashwin, Vinay Kumar, Rahul Sharma, Ashok Dinda, Pragyan Ojha, Virender Sehwag, Zaheer Khan, Umesh Yadav, Ajinkya Rahane

Post a comment

Notify me of follow-up comments?


Post comment to Facebook

Latest comments

Too excited to see virat once again as the vice captain...good to see Zaheer n vinay also...cheers team india
Ishatanu18 on 07 Jul 2012, 08:16 PM
Wohoo!!Its such a pleasure to know about these three rockstars will rock even in the Indian team!! Go Go Go Zak, Virat and Vinay!! I love you all..:**
AwesomeRCB on 05 Jul 2012, 11:50 PM
Surprised with no PK in the squad.I think we shuld have got him.I think as Sri Lanka pitches assist spinners more,we selected three spinners.
karthik-shetty4 on 05 Jul 2012, 10:16 PM
subscribe to rss