Apycom jQuery Menus

The coolest RCB updates, served hot.

IPL 2012 format announced

IPL 2012 format announced

The IPL Governing Council made a host of announcements on Saturday night regarding player transfer windows, player auctions, auction purse, squad composition and tournament format for IPL 2012. The fifth edition of the Premier League will be played between April 4th and May 27th 2012.

The GC announced that a player transfer window will be open between December 15 and January 20 with a shorter window post the auction. Each team can trade up to 4 players from their current squad who had been bought in the 2011 IPL can be traded in the transfer window.

The player auction, which will be held sometime in late January or early February will include players from the terminated Kochi Tuskers franchise. Teams can now have a squad size of 33 as opposed to the earlier 30 and the foreign player limit for each squad has been lifted from 10 to 11 to accommodate the available players. Teams will still only be allowed to field a maximum of four overseas players in their playing XI.

The auction purse will be $ 2 million to pick from a list of players which includes Muttiah Muralitharan, Mahela Jayawardene, Ravindra Jadeja, Brendon McCullum and Vinay Kumar.

The tournament will revert to the original format of each team playing every opponent once at home and once away. With 16 games for each team, 8 home and 8 away, the tournament will conclude with four play offs keeping the total number of games to 76. As runners up, Bangalore will host the play offs at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium and as winners, Chennai will host the final at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium.

Post a comment

Notify me of follow-up comments?


Post comment to Facebook

Latest comments

pick bhatkal in rcb
bandkaaluru on 28 Dec 2011, 03:38 AM
I think gayle is not playing 2012 IPL i think
shashi-kumar2 on 17 Dec 2011, 12:09 AM
Jayawardene !!
STUNN on 16 Dec 2011, 08:25 PM
please can any one tell gayle will play for our team or not
RCBSARAN on 16 Dec 2011, 06:58 AM
All the best...
shashi-kumar2 on 16 Dec 2011, 05:21 AM
Want Vinay,Akhil,Amit at any cost.Jadeja a bit difficult.
karthik-shetty4 on 16 Dec 2011, 05:09 AM
great news...bangalore will host 2 playoffs .........
anoop-s on 16 Dec 2011, 04:47 AM
Vinay and jadeja is my pick
shashi-kumar2 on 16 Dec 2011, 02:14 AM
hai pik mahela vinay jadeja
mahesh-basavaraju on 16 Dec 2011, 01:49 AM
anyone goes but jayawardene should be there...........
anukohli on 16 Dec 2011, 01:04 AM
Show more comments >
subscribe to rss