Apycom jQuery Menus

The coolest RCB updates, served hot.

Karnataka lift Buchi Babu trophy

Karnataka lift Buchi Babu trophy

Karnataka State Cricket Association XI beat Kerala Cricket Association XI by 3 wickets in the final of the All India Buchi Babu invitational tournament at Guru Nanak College ground in Chennai on Monday.

The two day match which began on Sunday 2nd September saw KCA win the toss and choose to bat first. KSCA skipper Vinay Kumar however pulled his team ahead with the wicket of opener Abhishek Hegde in the 3rd over.

KP Appanna was brought in early into the attack and he replied with the wicket of V Jagadeesh. Following the run out of Sanju Samson, Abhimanyu Mithun removed KCA skipper Sachin Baby lbw as regular wickets brought them down to 39/4.

Only two 42 run partnerships for the fifth and sixth wicket saved KCA the blushes, from 123/5, they collapsed to 137 all out. Appanna (4/35) returned to clean up the tail after Mithun (3/36) dismantled the middle order. Raajoo Bhatkal (1/14) chipped in with an important wicket and a catch while Vinay finished with 1/5 from his 6 overs.

KSCA’s openers added 57 for the first wicket before both were sent back by KR Sreejith to push the score 68/2. Sadanandan Anish then dismissed Robin Uthappa (32) and Manish Pandey (0) off consecutive deliveries before stumps to take KSCA from 96/2 to 100/4 at Stumps on Day 1.

Two early wickets on Day 2 saw KSCA slide further to 112/6 but CM Gautam (27) added 25 with Raajoo Bhatkal (7) to take them closer before he was dismissed with the scores level.

Abhimanyu Mithun brought up the winning runs with a four off the only ball he faced, taking KSCA XI to 141/7 and the Buchi Babu trophy, their second this year after the Shafi Dara Shah Trophy earlier in July.

Post a comment

Notify me of follow-up comments?


Post comment to Facebook

Latest comments

yaaaaa super kings
sudhirRCCB on 09 Sep 2012, 10:38 PM
Namma Karnataka Super!!!!!!!!!!!!
shreyas123 on 05 Sep 2012, 02:47 AM
karnataka rocks man!!!!
nagesh-naga on 04 Sep 2012, 06:32 PM
Atlast we won the Buchi Babu Trophy.Congrats guys.
karthik-shetty4 on 04 Sep 2012, 03:43 AM
be rcb fan
maheshvinoth on 04 Sep 2012, 02:22 AM
subscribe to rss