Apycom jQuery Menus

The coolest RCB updates, served hot.

Kohli named in the ICC Team of the Tournament

Kohli named in the ICC Team of the Tournament

Virat Kohli has been named in the ICC Team of the Champions Trophy.

The ICC on Monday announced the team of the tournament; India’s MS Dhoni was announced as the skipper of the team. The team also includes Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Ravindra Jadeja.

Virat Kohli scored 176 runs in the tournament at an average of 58.66, 58* being his highest in the semi-finals against Sri Lanka. His 34 ball 43 played a crucial role in India’s triumph in the final. Ravindra Jadeja picked up 12 wickets in the tournament and hence was awarded with the Golden Ball. Golden Bat winner Shikhar Dhawan amassed 363 runs which included 2 consecutive centuries.

The other inclusions in the team were Jonathan Trott and James Anderson from England. Despite losing all their matches Pakistan’s skipper Misbah-ul-Haq finds a place in the team.

Other inclusions were Kumar Sangakkara from Sri Lanka, Ryan McLaren from South Africa and New Zealand's Mitchell McClenaghan. Joe Root from England was named as the 12th man.

The Team of the Tournament was selected by a five-man selection panel which comprised of Geoff Allardice (ICC General Manager – Cricket, Chairman Event Technical Committee), Former India pacer Javagal Srinath who is the ICC Emirates Elite Panel match referee, Aleem Dar (ICC Emirates Elite Panel umpire), Scyld Berry (Wisden Editor from 2008-2011 and Sunday Telegraph correspondent) and Stephen Brenkley (correspondent of The Independent and Independent On Sunday).

"It was an extremely difficult task for the panel to pick a team of 11 players from the quality of players who featured in this tournament. As the selection criteria was the performance in the ICC Champions Trophy 2013, some of the best players had to be left out, though they would walk very easily into any World XI," said Allardice.

ICC’s Team of the Tournament -

Shikhar Dhawan, Jonathan Trott, Kumar Sangakkara, Virat Kohli, Misbah-ul-Haq, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain/WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Ryan McLaren, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, James Anderson, Mitchell McClenaghan, 12th Man – Joe Root.

Post a comment

Notify me of follow-up comments?


Post comment to Facebook

Latest comments

wow this is amazing
sudhirRCCB on 29 Jun 2013, 10:24 PM
Great! 5 out of 11 are indians! That is fantastic! Win the tri series also india!! :D
ANANTH11296 on 28 Jun 2013, 05:51 PM
Heartiest wishes virat!congratulations!!!well done dhawan ,jadeja,dhoni n b kumar!!!!cheers india:)
Ishatanu18 on 26 Jun 2013, 08:22 PM
subscribe to rss