Apycom jQuery Menus

The coolest RCB updates, served hot.

Muralitharan, Sehwag to captain MCC teams in UAE

Muralitharan, Sehwag to captain MCC teams in UAE

Sri Lankan spin legend Muttiah Muralitharan will be leading the MCC side in the Emirates T20 tournament in Dubai to mark the launch of the new county season, starting Friday.

Murali is set to make a special appearance as captain in the T20 tourney that also features the likes of Lancashire, Sussex and a select XI from the Kerala Premier League. Former India batsman Virender Sehwag will then take over as captain of the same side in a 4-day county match against Durham, starting March 23. The day-night encounter will be played under the “MCC Spirit of Cricket” banner and will feature the use of pink cricket balls, which recently underwent trial in the Sheffield Shield matches.

Muralitharan said it was a “huge privilege” to be asked to lead an MCC team. "I was delighted to accept the invitation. We've got a very strong squad going out to Dubai for the competition so I'm looking forward to playing alongside them all. I always enjoy seeing new innovations in the game of cricket and it's very exciting to be playing with a pink ball. Hopefully, we'll see it develop even further after this tour," he said.

Here's the full MCC squad traveling to the middle-east:

Virender Sehwag (India, captain), Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka, captain of T20 fixture only), Sam Robson (Middlesex and England Lions), Luis Reece (Lancashire and ex-Leeds/Bradford MCCU), Daniel Bell-Drummond (Kent), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire and England), Prassana Jayawardene (Sri Lanka), Ollie Rayner (Middlesex and England Lions), Andre Adams (Nottinghamshire), Harry Gurney (Nottinghamshire and ex-Leeds/Bradford MCCU), Kyle Hogg (Lancashire), Monty Panesar (Essex and England)

Post a comment

Notify me of follow-up comments?


Post comment to Facebook

Latest comments

subscribe to rss