Apycom jQuery Menus

The coolest RCB updates, served hot.

Three RCB players named in Caribbean Premier League drafts

Three RCB players named in Caribbean Premier League drafts

Chris Gayle, Daniel Vettori and Ravi Rampaul named for the 'CPL' drafts

Chris Gayle, Daniel Vettori and Ravi Rampaul were among the three Royal Challengers Bangalore players who were included in the drafts for the inaugural ‘Caribbean Premier League’, which is to be held from the 30th of July to the 24th of August.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Denesh Ramdin, Darren Bravo, Lendl Simmons, Ravi Rampaul and Samuel Badree were the best players in ‘Pool A’, which has cricketers who have played international level cricket.

‘Pool B’ has a mix of both regional and international level cricketers, whereas ‘Pool C’ consists of the best U-23 players from the West Indies.

Pakistan’s Shoaib Malik and New Zealand’s Daniel Vettori, both former internationals, were named in the foreign players’ category at a Barbados press conference on Thursday.

Other players who were named are Australia’s Shaun Marsh, South Africa’s Albie Morkel and Bangladeshs' Shakib al Hasan.

CPL operations manager, Carlisle Powell said that the main drafts would be conducted on the 5th of June in Jamaica, with each team having a four member selection committee consisting of the Head coach, the Assistant Coach, the West Indies franchise player and the international franchise player.

The four member committee will decide the official picks before proceeding to the final drafts.

Here is the complete list of players who were drafted for the ‘CPL’.

West Indies Pool A: Andre Russell, Chris Gayle, Darren Bravo, Denesh Ramdin, Dwayne Smith, Fidel Edwards, Johnson Charles, Kemar Roach, Kieran Powell, Lendl Simmons, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Ravi Rampaul, Samuel Badree, Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Tino Best.

International Pool A
: Aaron Finch (Australia), Albie Morkel (South Africa), Daniel Vettori (New Zealand), Dirk Nannes (Australia), Luke Pomersbach (Australia), Shakib al Hasan (Bangladesh), Shaun Marsh (Australia), Shoaib Malik (Pakistan), Steven Smith (Australia), Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh), Umar Akmal (Pakistan) and Vernon Philander (South Africa).

International Pool B
: Elton Chigumbura (Zimbabwe), Davy Jacobs (South Africa), Justin Kemp (South Africa), James Franklin (New Zealand), Mark Guptil (New Zealand) and Kevin O’Brien (Ireland).

Post a comment

Notify me of follow-up comments?


Post comment to Facebook

Latest comments

sudhirRCCB on 29 Oct 2013, 07:42 AM
Our RCBian Boys will Roxx in CPL.
sudhirRCCB on 28 May 2013, 10:12 PM
subscribe to rss