The New Official RCB APP


RCB News

Chahal, Axar given extended run to build bench: MSK Prasad

Mon, 11th, Sep 2017 |
  • Total Shares0


India's selection committee has decided to give their reserve set of players an extended run in the upcoming limited overs series against Australia. Only Shardul Thakur was left from the team that clean swept 5 ODIs and the only T20I in Sri Lanka while ace pacers Umesh Yadav and Mohammad Shami have been added to the roster. 

The management has decided to let Ashwin play for his county side in England while Jadeja will continue to rest for the first three games. This would mean that Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel and Kuldeep Yadav will continue to be the premier spinners against Steve Smith's Oz. 

Chief selector MSK Prasad spoke on the team's rotation policy and said, "The team for the three ODIs against Australia has been selected in line with the rotation policy of the board and accordingly R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja have been rested.

The team's performance during the Sri Lanka tour was outstanding and players like Axar Patel and Yuzvendra Chahal, who performed very well are being given an extended run and this will in turn supplement our approach, to build a strong reserve strength, as we prepare for forthcoming tours."

The batting department will continue to spot the same look with KL Rahul hopefully continuing to bat at number 4. India will play their first ODI on Sunday at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. 

Squad: Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami.

  • Total Shares0