RCB News

India retain squad for first two Oz Tests

Wed, 15th, Feb 2017 |
  • Total Shares2

After thumping Bangladesh by 208 runs in Hyderabad, the national selectors have named an unchanged squad for the first two Tests starting February 23 against Australia. 

Rohit Sharma, Mohammad Shami and Amit Mishra have been marred by injuries and were in the spotlight ahead of the team selection. 

There wouldn't have been a reason to tickle the winning combination but the focus still remains on these players who've got tremendous support from Virat Kohli and the team management. 

KL Rahul was the lone batsman who couldn't score in the Bangladesh Test and the focus will be on him in Pune with Abhinav Mukund still retaining his place in the squad.

The selectors met in Mumbai on Tuesday to announce the squad but there was no press conference or explanation on the status of the injured players. 

Kuldeep Yadav, who was called up as a replacement for Mishra has also been retained. He along with the uncapped Hardik Pandya, who leads India A, will face Aussies in a tour match starting February 17. 

Squad: Virat Kohli (capt), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Abhinav Mukund, Karun Nair, Hardik Pandya, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha, Ishant Sharma, M Vijay, Jayant Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav


  • Total Shares2