RCB News

KL Rahul, Yuzi, Head among players retained in the T20I squads

Wed, 4th, Oct 2017 |
  • Total Shares4624
Head expected to play in the squad too

KL Rahul manages to retain his place for the 3-match T20I series against Australia starting 7th October. He's expected to compete with Manish Pandey once again for a spot in the middle order. Manish had decent outings with the bat in the last three One Dayers, guiding the team over the line in Indore and Nagpur.


With Ajinkya Rahane not being considered for the shortest format despite starring with four consecutive fifties in the recently concluded One Day series, swashbuckling Shikhar Dhawan makes a much anticipated comeback to the side. Earlier, he had missed the 50 over series to attend his unwell wife and was in scintillating batting form prior to that. Rahul, could thus function as a reserve opener in the side but is not expected to displace the current opening pair.


Veteran seamer Ashish Nehra makes another comeback into the team at the age of 38, as he wasn't a part of the one-off T20Is against the Windies and Sri Lanka. He last represented his country in a bilateral T20I series against England earlier this year while Test cricket mainstays Shami and Umesh, who didn't enjoy the best of games at Bengaluru, weren't included in the T20I squad. Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav and Axar Patel's impressive performances and with the selectors' search for balance ahead of the 2019 WC, first choice spin duo Ashwin and Jadeja continue to sit out of the limited overs setup.


The likes of Mandeep Singh, Yuvraj Singh, Parvez Rasool and Rishabh Pant, who were a part of the last bilateral T20I series against England, have been left out in favour of the top performers in the ODI squad. Dinesh Karthik, who makes a comeback after impressing versus the Windies, is expected to take the back-up wicketkeeper slot. The likes of KL Rahul and Kedar Jadhav, who've also had wicketkeeping stints in the past, are already options to cover for MS Dhoni, in addition to Karthik.


The first of the three T20Is is scheduled to be played at the JSCA International Stadium in Ranchi on Saturday, 7th October, followed by Guwahati on 10th October and finally at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium in Hyderabad on 13th October, where the tour winds up. To counter the dew, the matches are scheduled to start at 7 PM IST, as opposed to the 8 PM slot we're used to in the IPL.

India Squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel,  Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra.

  • Total Shares4624