RCB News

MS Dhoni stands down from India LOIs captaincy, Virat ready

Thu, 5th, Jan 2017 |
  • Total Shares17617

MS Dhoni resigned from his role as ODI and T20I captain of India on Wednesday. Dhoni will continue to be available for selection as a wicketkeeper batsman.

Virat Kohli, skipper of the Indian Test team is expected to be named as Dhoni's successor in the role on Friday, January 6th when the senior selection panel meets in Mumbai to announce the teams for the upcoming ODI and T20I series against England.

Kohli has led India in 17 ODIs with 5-0 whitewashes of Zimbabwe away and Sri Lanka at home under his belt. He scored 850 runs at an average of 70.83 with four 100s and three 50s in these matches.

Dhoni took over as India's LOI captain in 2007 and immediately impressed with the 2007 World Twenty20 win leading a young team. A historic ODI series win in Australia followed as the side vindicated a major overhaul of personnel. The highlight was the 2011 World Cup victory which he personally sealed with a Man of the Match performance in the final. The Champions Trophy win in 2013 made him the only captain to have won all three major ICC trophies. He also revived India's fortune in Asia Cups too with India winning both an ODI and T20I version of the tournament under him.

India's win loss record in 199 ODIs under Dhoni is 110 wins and 74 losses. In 72 T20Is under Dhoni, India won 41 and lost 28. The current Indian LOI squad is largely composed of youngsters groomed under Dhoni, including Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ashwin and Jadeja.

"On the behalf of every Indian cricket fan and the BCCI, I would like to thank MS Dhoni for his outstanding contribution as the captain of the Indian team across all formats," BCCI chief executive Rahul Johri said. "Under his leadership, Indian team has touched new heights and his achievements will remain etched forever in the annals of Indian cricket."

  • Total Shares17617