RCB News

Virat Kohli named India LOI captain, team for England fixtures announced

Fri, 6th, Jan 2017 |
  • Total Shares8

Virat Kohli was officially named as the Indian Cricket Team's new captain in the ODI and T20I formats today at Mumbai.

Virat takes over from India's most successful ODI captain MS Dhoni who resigned from his role on Wednesday. Virat took over the Test team from Dhoni full-time in January 2015 after the latter retired from Test cricket at Melbourne in December 2014. 

Dhoni remains a key player for India and was named in the limited overs squads for the ODIs and T20Is against England as well as captain of the India A squad which will play the first warm up game against England in Mumbai on January 10th. Ajinkya Rahane, left out of the T20I squad will lead India A in the second warm up game at the same venue on January 12th. 

Yuvraj Singh and Suresh Raina returned to the ODI and T20I sides while uncapped hard-hitting Delhi batsman-wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant received a call up to the T20I side. 

RCB players KL Rahul, Virat Kohli and Kedar Jadhav feature in the ODI squad while Rahul, Mandeep Singh, Virat and Yuzvendra Chahal feature in the T20I squad. India play 3 ODIs against England from January 15th to January 22nd and 3 T20Is from Jan 26th to Feb 1st.

ODI squad: KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (capt), MS Dhoni, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Yuvraj Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav

T20I squad: KL Rahul, Mandeep Singh, Virat Kohli (capt), MS Dhoni (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Manish Pandey, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra

India vs England LOI fixtures
Warm Up Games

Jan 10 India A v England XI at Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai (D/N)
Jan 12 India A v England XI Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai (D/N)

Jan 15 1st ODI - India v England (D/N)
Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune

Jan 19 2nd ODI - India v England (D/N)
Barabati Stadium, Cuttack  

Jan 22 3rd ODI - India v England (D/N)
Eden Gardens, Kolkata 

Jan 26 1st T20I - India v England 
Green Park, Kanpur (D/N 16:30 local)

Jan 29 2nd T20I - India v England 
Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Jamtha, Nagpur (D/N 19:00 local)

Feb 1 3rd T20I - India v England 
M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru (D/N 19:00 local)  

  • Total Shares8