Submitted by Amith Chakrapani on Tue, 06/15/2021 - 21:25

India, New Zealand announce squads for WTC final

15 Jun, 2021
India, New Zealand announce squads for WTC final
15 Jun, 2021 By Editor

The finalists of World Test Championship, India and New Zealand announced the squad for the premier clash, on Tuesday.

India announced the 15-man squad, which does not feature Karnataka batters KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal, putting to bed a lot of speculations about the choice of openers in the final.

Virat Kohli led side have given space to both spinners, Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin, in the squad indicating that India are going to keep their options open. The presence of Wriddhiman Saha is seen as a backup option, with Rishabh Pant likely to make the cut.

On the other hand, New Zealand’s 15-man squad features Captain Kane Williamson and wicketkeeper-batsman BJ Watling who missed the second Test against England. Both players have been cleared fit for the final.

The Kiwis have left out five players from their 20-man squad, including Doug Bracewell, Jacob Duffy, Daryl Mitchell, Rachin Ravindra, and Mitchell Santner.

India squad WTC final squad: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj.

New Zealand WTC final squad: Kane Williamson (C), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner BJ Watling, and Will Young.