Submitted by Amith Chakrapani on Fri, 08/12/2022 - 16:14

KL Rahul announced Indian captain for the Zimbabwe tour

12 Aug, 2022
KL Rahul announced Indian captain for the Zimbabwe tour
12 Aug, 2022 By Editor

The air was cleared about KL Rahul’s selection for the Zimbabwe tour as the BCCI medical team gave him the green signal for the tour of Zimbabwe. Having suffered an injury during the practice sessions for the series against South Africa at home, the 3-match ODI series will witness the return of the Karnataka batsman. Rahul hasn’t been a part of the international cricketing fabric since February when he last played for India against South Africa. He led the Lucknow Super Giants to a phenomenal top 4 finish in their debut season in the IPL.

He was scheduled to be a part of the Caribbean tour but couldn’t gain the minimum fitness required and was also advised to rest by BCCI after a Covid scare. Finally, after a long wait, he will be back in the Indian squad and will be hoping to reestablish himself in the heart of the Indian batting line-up. He has already been announced as a part of the Indian contingent that will be flying to the UAE to be a part of the Asia Cup later this month.

Squad for Zimbabwe ODIs: KL Rahul (c) Shikhar Dhawan (VC), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Deepak Chahar.