Submitted by Amith Chakrapani on Sat, 07/31/2021 - 16:56

Zaheer Khan names his 15-man India squad for T20 World Cup

31 Jul, 2021
Zaheer Khan names his 15-man India squad for T20 World Cup
31 Jul, 2021 By Editor

With T20 World Cup just a few months away, experts have started sharing their opinion about the squad India should be taking to the marquee event.

Former India pacer Zaheer Khan thinks that India should open with KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma in the world cup and Virat Kohli should bat at number three. Virat has been opening for RCB in the IPL and also did that for Team India earlier this year against England.

"I will open with KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma. Virat and Surya will follow them. I know Virat has made the statement that he wants to open the innings. But I would still say that Virat only opens in case Hardik is not available to bowl. In that scenario, you can sacrifice one batsman and get an extra bowler," Zaheer said on Cricbuzz.

Yuzvendra Chahal had a good Sri Lanka tour and as per Zaheer, he should be leading the spin department in the UAE.

"I have Chahal as the lead leg spinner and also went in with Rahul Chahar as his backup. In this format, we have seen that leg spinner is such a crucial factor. Chakravarthy/Sundar will be the spinners, who will be bowling with the new ball. If you want that mystery element, you can choose Chakravarthy, but otherwise, you can go in with Sundar as well," said Zaheer Khan

Zaheer’s 15-man India squad for T20 World Cup: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli (Captain), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Rishabh Pant (Wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Rahul Chahar, T Natarajan/ Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Washington Sundar/ Varun Chakravarthy.