Submitted by Amith Chakrapani on Sat, 11/26/2022 - 19:01

India seek to stay alive in the series as New Zealand look to extend winning run at home

26 Nov, 2022
India seek to stay alive in the series as New Zealand look to extend winning run at home
26 Nov, 2022 By Editor

After a not-so-ideal start for the Indians in the ongoing ODI series against New Zealand, the Men in Blue will be desperate to level the series at Seddon Park as the second contest of the fray looms on the horizon.

The Indian batting unit seemed to be in pretty solid control with their top order finding themselves in the midst of runs with Shreyas Iyer leading the charts. However, it will be interesting to see how the Indian bowling unit responds to the intense pressure that they were subjected to in the first ODI.

A few possible changes may be on the cards that will entail a possible inclusion of Deepak Chahar as that enhances India’s batting depth and also brings in the side an adept wicket-taker while we may see the Kul-Cha pair at it again as the Men in Blue struggled to chip away at the scalps in the middle overs.

New Zealand will also have some introspection of their own, especially after being peppered around frequently by the Indian batters. It will be another exciting stoush of the willow and the leather at Seddon Park as India eyes a leveller while New Zealand hope to wrap the series up early.

Venue Watch:

Seddon Park has a great reputation amongst the New Zealand pitches for its assistance towards the batters. Even though rain has played a significant part in shaping the fate of the contests, as things stand, out of the 46 ODIs played between these two teams, 18 have been won batting first while 26 have been secured batting second. The average first innings score is 239 while it drops to 210 during a chase.


Matches played: 111

India: 55

New Zealand: 50

Match Details:

India vs New Zealand

Seddon Park

27th November 2022

7:00 AM IST



Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar, Umran Malik

New Zealand:

Kane Williamson (Captain), Michael Bracewell, Daryl Mitchell, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Tom Latham, Glenn Phillips, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Adam Milne, Tim Southee