Submitted by Amith Chakrapani on Wed, 08/10/2022 - 11:18

Virat Kohli returns to the Indian squad for Asia Cup 2022

10 Aug, 2022
Virat Kohli returns to the Indian squad for Asia Cup 2022
10 Aug, 2022 By Editor

The All-India Senior Selection Committee has picked the Indian squad for the Asia Cup that will be held from 27th August to 11th September. The 15th edition of the tournament will be played in UAE after it was shifted out of Sri Lanka.

Virat Kohli will be returning to the Indian side after being rested for the West Indies and Zimbabwe series while RCB’s finisher supreme, Dinesh Karthik will be continuing his swansong at the international stage. Much to India’s dismay, they will be without the services of their ace quick, Jasprit Bumrah while Harshal Patel will also be missing the continental battle after both of them were ruled out with injuries.

KL Rahul will return to the Indian squad as the vice-captain while Rohit Sharma will be leading the team. Deepak Hooda was chosen to take care of the stratospheric striking alongside the likes of Rishabh Pant, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja and DK in the middle order.

Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh and Bhuvneshwar Kumar will be leading India’s pace attack in the absence of Bumrah and Harshal while Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi and R Ashwin will be spearheading the spin department.

The trio of Sharma, Kohli and Rahul will be India’s biggest trump cards as they hunt for the continental crown. India will begin their Asia Cup campaign with a battle against arch-rivals Pakistan on the 28th of August.

Indian squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan