Submitted by Chethan Hiremath on Sat, 08/01/2020 - 12:04

Franchises willing to pool together to charter South African players to UAE

01 Aug, 2020
Franchises willing to pool together to charter South African players to UAE
01 Aug, 2020 By Editor

From AB de Villiers to Dale Steyn, Faf du Plessis and Quinton de Kock, South African players have been the fulcrum of their respective IPL sides over the last few years. The cricket watching world cannot fathom an IPL without the involvement of the Protea cricketers. 

In view of the sudden spurt in COVID-19 cases, South Africa has levied stringent travel restrictions. However, the franchises are leaving no stone unturned to ensure that the players don't miss the initial phase of the tournament.

Talking to IANS, the franchise official, stated that there was a substantive discussion to get all the players stranded in South Africa on a chartered flight, but the decision will only be taken after the meeting scheduled on Sunday.

"We are aware that the South African players are somewhat stuck and we will take a call on them after the IPL GC meeting on Sunday. Informally we have had discussions and it is not restricted to one or two franchises. Almost all the franchises have top stars coming in from South Africa and it only makes sense to have them all fly in to UAE on a chartered plane and the franchises share the expense. A final call can only be taken by the franchises after Sunday, " official was quoted as saying to IANS. 

Another official, in accordance with the decision, said that it would be better to have all South African players facilitated in a single chartered flight.

"Why would we want one plane to bring a player for one franchise and another for another franchise? At a time when travel restrictions are on and everyone is moving very cautiously, it is only practical that we have them all come in together in one plane, " another franchise official added.

IPL-bound players - AB de Villiers, Chris Morris, Dale Steyn, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir, David Miller, and Hardus Viljoen.